Apply the highest standards of urological care


To view all past Award Winners, please click here.

2020 SIU Mostafa M. Elhilali Award

Anthony ATALA

Anthony ATALA

Anthony ATALA


Anthony Atala, M.D., is the G. Link Professor and Director of the Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, and the W. Boyce Professor and Chair of the Department of
Urology at Wake Forest University. His work focuses on growing human cells, tissues and organs. Dr Atala works with several journals and serves in various roles, including Editorin-Chief of: Stem Cells- Translational Medicine, and BioPrinting; Section Editor for Urology Survey in the Journal of Urology; and is on the Editorial Board of 11 journals. Fifteen applications of technologies developed in Dr Atala’s laboratory have been used clinically. He is the editor of 22 books, has published more than 800 journal articles
and has applied for or received over 250 national and international patents.

Dr Atala was elected to the National Academy of Medicine, and is a recipient of the US Congress funded Christopher Columbus Foundation Award, bestowed on a living American who is currently working on a discovery that will significantly affect society; the Edison Science/Medical Award; the R&D Innovator of the Year Award; and the Smithsonian Ingenuity Award. Dr. Atala’s work was listed twice as Time Magazine’s top 10 medical breakthroughs of the year, and was ranked by the Project Management Institute as one of the top 10 most impactful biotech projects from the past 50 years. Dr Atala was named by Scientific American as one of the world’s most influential people in biotechnology, by U.S. News & World Report as one of 14 Pioneers of Medical Progress in the 21st Century, by Life Sciences Intellectual Property Review as one of 50 key influencers in the life sciences intellectual property arena, and by Nature Biotechnology as one of the top 10 translational researchers in the world.

2020 Félix Guyon Medal

Badrinath KONETY

Badrinath KONETY

Badrinath KONETY


Badrinath R. Konety, M.D., M.B.A., is the Henry P Russe Dean, Rush Medical College and Senior Vice President of Clinical Affairs at the Rush System for Health, Rush University as well as Professor of Urology. He is the former Chair of the Department of Urology, Associate Director for Clinical Affairs of the Masonic Cancer Center at the University of Minnesota and Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs and CEO of University of Minnesota Physicians.

Dr Konety completed his residency and American Foundation for Urologic Disease Research Scholar fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh. He also received an MBA from the University of Pittsburgh Katz School of Business. Dr. Konety also completed his urologic oncology fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He has authored or co-authored 300 peer reviewed publications and numerous book chapters as well as editing books on bladder cancer. He has been and is principal or co-investigator on grants funded through the Department of Defense, National Institutes of Health, American Geriatrics Society and Center for Disease Control. He has received the Jahnigen Career Development Scholar Award and the Ferdinand Valentine fellowship. He is an active member of numerous professional medical societies including the American Urological Association, the American College of Surgeons, Société Internationale D’Urologie (SIU) and the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons. He is the Past President of te SIU and the Society of Academic Urology and is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Urology. He has been recognized for several years by the Best Doctors of America and Top Doctors of America.

2020 SIU Albert Schweitzer Award

Serigne Magueye GUEYE
Serigne Magueye

Serigne Magueye GUEYE

Serigne Magueye GUEYE


Serigne Magueye Gueye, M.D., is Professor of Surgery / Urology, University Cheikh Anta DIOP (UCAD) and Head of Urology and Chief Medical Officer Grand Yoff General Hospital. He is Director of IFRU-SF ( a non-profit organization dedicated to building capacity and developing research in Urology throughout Africa. He is former Fulbright Scholar, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA, USA. Dr Gueye is an active clinician, trainer and researcher. Co-founder of the Men of African Descent and Carcinoma of the Prostate Consortium (MADCAP), he is PI and CO-PI in many research projects. Past-President of African Organization of Research and Training in Cancer (AORTIC) and the Pan African Urological Surgeons Association (PAUSA), he is President-Elect of the West African College of Surgeons (WACS) and serves on numerous national and international advisory boards.

Dr Gueye is the Director of the SIU-accredited Dakar Center offering fellowship training in General urology, endourology, uro-oncology and reconstructive and female urology of
residents from Africa and the rest of the World. Dr Gueye has been an active member of the SIU for several years and formerly served as a member of the SIU Board of Directors
as the Membership and International Relations Lead for Africa and the Middle East. For his work, Dr Gueye has been awarded many national and international medals in
Senegal, France, Chad, Rwanda including the United Nations’ Medal for Peace in Rwanda.



Register Now for SIU 2021
B2B GU Cancers Triad 2021 On Demand
MH B2B on demand
Follow Us

Twitter feed

Corporate Sponsors

Society Contributors